This is what the LORD, who saves you,
the Holy One of Israel, says:
"I am the LORD your God, who teaches you
to do what is good, who leads you
in the way you should go."
(Isa. 48:17)
Christian Publications Meditating on God's Word,
and seeking His direction
~ created and provided by Cypress Ministries ~
Biblical Insights:
Growing Deeper In God's Word
from our "Growing With God" series
Have a question or comment about this Book Insight? Feel free to send us a message, we would love to hear from you!
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
We invite you to visit our blogs from Cypress Ministries:  Holding Hands in Fellowship BlogFrom A Listening Heart Blog
~ About the Growing With God series:

This series is based on John 15 and Matthew 13. God is the vinedresser, and we are the vines that He has planted. However if we do not stay “rooted in Him” then we will cease to grow. Jesus said, “if you abide in Me, and My Word abides in you….”  His Word, however, cannot abide in us if  the soil of our heart is hardened, it takes constant nurturing, tilling and weeding, if we want our hearts to remain good fertile ground that will bear fruit for the glory of God. Not only will this help us to bear much fruit, but we will also flourish like a Palm tree planted by God (Ps. 92:12-13; Ps. 1:3; and Jer. 17:8).

For more information about this series and the books available, please visit the following link to our main ministry's website.

Growing in God's Word

◊ Leviticus: Instructions on Worship and Laws
Leviticus focuses on the people’s relationship with God. Essentially, this is a Book of instructions on how the Nation of Israel is to worship and live sanctified (and holy) lives to God. It also teaches them how to atone for their sins, so as to be able to approach a righteous God.

Author: 3rd Book written by Moses

Key Place Is: Mount Sinai

Key People Are: Moses, Aaron

Outline Summary:
I)Laws Concerning Sacrifices (1:1---7:38)
II)Laws Concerning the Priest (8:1---10)
III)Laws of Purification (11:1---15:33)
IV)The Day of Atonement (16:1---34)
V)The Holiness Code (17:1---27:34)
b.Religious Festivals
c.Religious Symbols
d.Sabbatical Year & Jubilee
e.Promises & Warnings
f.Vows & Tithes

The Offerings Taught in this Book Are:
  • Burnt Offering (Lev. 1)
  • Grain Offerings (Lev. 2)
  • Fellowship Offerings (Lev. 3)
  • Sin Offerings (Lev. 4)
  • Guilt Offerings (Lev. 5)

Other Key Points in this Book Are:
  • The number 7 shows great significance.
  • This books shows the redemption of a “ruined man” and how (and what) God expects from the redeemed.
  • The Book of Leviticus covers a period of only 1 month.


This Book summary is part of our Biblical Insights and Basic Commentary Notes written by Cypress Ministries.

We invite you to download a FREE E-Book copy of the whole "Basic Commentary Notes" that can be saved and read anytime on your computer (which can also printed out). Or for a printed copy, you can order one from or our online bookstore at The Pathway of Faith Bookstore.

Click here for FREE PDF (E-BOOK) of our Biblical Insights & Basic Commentary Notes
by Cypress Ministries
Since our Biblical Insights are an ongoing project, we invite you to use the form below to receive updates when we release our supplement chapters and Biblical Book Surveys
LampPost Christian Publications is part of
Cypress Ministries
Knowing who God Is, Believing what God says & Worshiping God
because He IS GOD
and making Jesus' Name known